IN THE CHANCERY COURT FOR DAVIDSON COUNTY TWENTIETH JUDICIAL DISTRICT THE STATE OF TENNESSEE

THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT	Case No. 20-0143-II
OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY, et al., Plaintiffs,	 Chancellor Anne C. Martin, Chief Judge Judge Tammy M. Harrington Judge Valerie L. Smith
vs.	
TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, et al.,	
Defendants,)
– and –)
NATU BAH, et al.,	
Intervenor-Defendants.	CONSOLIDATED
ROXANNE McEWEN, et al.,	Case No. 20-0242-II
Plaintiffs,	Chancellor Anne C. Martin, Chief Judge
VS.	Judge Tammy M. Harrington Judge Valerie L. Smith
BILL LEE, in His Official Capacity as Governor of the State of Tennessee, et al.,	
Defendants,)
– and –	
NATU BAH, et al.,	
Intervenor-Defendants.	,))
Ś	

PLAINTIFFS' NOTICE OF MOTION AND MOTION FOR A TEMPORARY INJUNCTION PURSUANT TO TENN. R. CIV. P. 65.04

Comes now Plaintiffs Roxanne McEwen, David P. Bichell, Terry Jo Bichell, Lisa Mingrone, Claudia Russell, Inez Williams, Heather Kenny, Elise McIntosh, and Apryle Young (collectively, "McEwen Plaintiffs"), pursuant to Rule 65.04 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, and moves the Court for a temporary injunction restraining Defendants Governor Bill Lee, Lillian Hartgrove, Robert Eby, Nick Darnell, Mike Edwards, Gordon Ferguson, Elissa Kim, Nate Morrow, Larry Jensen, Darrell Cobbins, Mike Krause, and the Tennessee Department of Education and Commissioner of Education Penny Schwinn from implementing or enforcing the Voucher Law, T.C.A. §49-62601, *et seq.*, and/or using state resources to process applications, engage with parents and schools, or remit any funds in support of the program.

In support of this motion, Plaintiffs rely upon the Complaint filed in this case, Plaintiffs' Memorandum of Law in support of this motion, the Declaration of Christopher M. Wood in Support of Plaintiffs' Motion for a Temporary Injunction Pursuant to Tenn. R. Civ. P. 65.04, and any such further briefing, argument, and evidence as may be submitted in this matter.

This is Plaintiffs' second application for extraordinary relief.

DATED: July 22, 2022

ROBBINS GELLER RUDMAN & DOWD LLP CHRISTOPHER M. WOOD, BPR No. 032977

> s/ Christopher M. Wood CHRISTOPHER M. WOOD

414 Union Street, Suite 900 Nashville, TN 37219 Telephone: 615/244-2203 615/252-3798 (fax) cwood@rgrdlaw.com ACLU FOUNDATION OF TENNESSEE STELLA YARBROUGH, BPR No. 033637 P.O. Box 120160 Nashville, TN 37212 Telephone: 615/320-7142 615/691-7219 (fax) svarbrough@aclu-tn.org

SOUTHERN POVERTY LAW CENTER SOPHIA MIRE HILL 111 East Capitol Street, Suite 280 Jackson, MS 39201 Telephone: 769/524-2013 sophia.mire@splcenter.org

EDUCATION LAW CENTER DAVID G. SCIARRA (admitted *pro hac vice*) WENDY LECKER (admitted *pro hac vice*) JESSICA LEVIN (admitted *pro hac vice*) 60 Park Place, Suite 300 Newark, NJ 07102 Telephone: 973/624-1815 973/624-7339 (fax) dsciarra@edlawcenter.org wlecker@edlawcenter.org

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that a copy of the foregoing has been forwarded via electronic filing

service and electronic mail to the following on this 22nd day of July, 2022:

Stephanie A. Bergmeyer Office of Tennessee Attorney General P.O. Box 20207 Nashville, TN 37202-0207 stephanie.bergmeyer@ag.tn.gov

David Hodges Keith Neely Institute for Justice 901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900 Arlington, VA 22203 dhodges@ij.org kneely@ij.org

Arif Panju Institute for Justice 816 Congress Avenue, Suite 960 Austin, TX 78701 apanju@ij.org Jason Coleman 7808 Oakfield Grove Brentwood, TN 37027 jicoleman84@gmail.com

Braden H. Boucek B.P.R. No. 021399 Beacon Center P.O. Box 198646 Nashville, TN 37219 braden@beacontn.org

Brian K. Kelsey Daniel R. Suhr Liberty Justice Center 190 South LaSalle Street, Suite 1500 Chicago, Illinois 60603

s/ Christopher M. Wood CHRISTOPHER M. WOOD